Damn the calculator

I use MyfitnessPal, among other places, to help track my progress. I’m not consistant,

 

Image representing MyFitnessPal as depicted in...

Image via CrunchBase

 

but I’m trying to get back in the habit of it. Especially since I’m home all the time right now and don’t have an excuse of being too busy. My days consist of looking for jobs, wedding planning, exercise (running or weight lifting), writing, or video games.

 

So I’ve started logging my food and my exercises, again. The most annoying thing about the process is that at the end of the day you can hit “complete day” and the system will tell you how much you *should* weight in about 2 weeks if you keep eating that way. It’s based on your goals, activity level, and calorie intake. I hate this thing. I know if great for some people but for people with PCOS its not accurate and almost a reminder of how abnormal you are.

 

For about 10 months I’ve been under 210 lbs. For about 2-3 months I’ve been hovering around 208 lbs. The last few days it’s finally been moving, and today I was 206.6 which is fantastic. But that damn “you should weight X in X weeks” taunts me. For 3 months it’s said that I should weigh under 200 lbs in 2-5 weeks. I think the latest was 191 lbs in 5 weeks. And that is bullshit.

 

The other thing it does is tells me I’m not eating enough. Which I find amusing as well. I know not eating enough is a problem, but I’m not hungry. I’m filling up on leafy greens, and lots of meat. I’ve cut my carbs to around 100 a day, and I’m finally starting to see a change.

 

Yes, I’m actually trying to do low carb. I’ve actually cut out my meds. I’m taking vitamins everyday and trying to stay around 100 carbs. I’ve been mostly floating around 110-120 depending on if dinner has rice or not. This seems to be the best solution for me and my damn PCOS. The great news is that I’ve had normal cycles for 2 months, but I’ve also only been off 2 months, so its too early to tell.

 

Also running: I’m running about 3 times a week. I missed 1 day the last 2 weeks for family stuff and a thunderstorm. But last week I did the 3.1. Yesterday, I went out for W3D1 (90 sec jog, 90 secs walk, 3 minute jog, 3 minute walk) and completed it all. I’m thinking of doing another 3.1 on Wednesday. I’m feeling more confident about the whole thing lately.

 

I’m planning on running my 5k with a close friend, and they do a different style then me.

When Pigs Fly

When Pigs Fly (Photo credit: slgckgc)

They do 1v1 or 2v1 or 1v2 (run V walk, so a 1v1 is a 1 minute run then a 1 minute walk).If I continue on my training I will be at  W8D1 which is walk 3 min, jog 8 min, walk 3 min, jog 5 min. I’m thinking I might switch to 1v1 or 2v1’s next week so that I’m used to it.

 

 

 

One thought on “Damn the calculator

Leave a Reply

