3.1 miles

Last July my parents fly me home for my birthday. They did it since I’d lost my job and was taking it kinda hard. Right before I got out there my sis-in-law called me and asked me to do the Milltown 5k. I said sure, but I would only walk since I hadn’t been running or training or working out at all. She said it would be fine.

Holy crap was it not.

I finished in 1 hour and 5 minutes. I was dead last by almost 30 minutes. It was embarrassing  They were packing up the line when I stumbled across it. I was red faced and exhausted. The 90 degree heat at 8 am didn’t help.

In December, I walked my second 5k. It was muggy and hot and I finished in just under an hour. I was quite proud of myself. I’d been working off an on with the sit to fit people but I was disappointed that I wasn’t running it. I was having lots of trouble breathing and it was great but awful.

Now, I’ve been working on a modified C25k program. I’d say technically I’m on week 4 but I switched to outdoor from a treadmill so I went back to week 2 so I didn’t push to hard. Basically, it’s 90 seconds of jog/run and 90 second of walk. with a 5 minute cool down/warmup. Over the weekend I got it in my head that I should do a whole 5k and see where I’m at. So I did it.

I finished at 54 minutes with 3.19 miles. It would have been faster but I had an 18 minute mile in the middle because of a phone call that I had to take. I also did most of the cycles, only skipping ones when I needed a longer recovery from a hill.

I feel really proud of myself about yesterday.

 

Leave a Reply

