30 minutes with a Trainer..

The trainer just about destroyed me. Well, not really. He did make me bust my butt and I did push myself to a feeling like I was about to pass out. That is horrible! Thinking about it now, a few days later, I don’t think I would have passed out. I think that was my body trying to find a way to get me to stop, that or I still don’t know how to breathe right.

My goal for the first session was to keep pushing myself and not give up. I wanted to get as far as I could through the first session, even if I was crying and throwing up. Yeah, I know that you don’t really want to push yourself that hard. That was more of a mental statement thing; I needed to make sure that I was setting my mind up to not accept failure or wussing out. In the end I was able to push myself to 25 minutes with the trainer, which I’m proud of. My next goal is the whole 30 minutes.

The routine was simple but challenging and reminded me of the “30 Day Shred” by Jillian Michaels. It was designed to continually work for 30 minutes with fewer breaks. The fewer breaks help keep your heart rate up, while the constant changing keeps your body from adjusting to the routine. We did lots of squats, chest presses on balls, lunges, more stuff with our arms, and this crab walk thing that killed me. So we’ve been tasked to do this the same way, roughly, through the week. He didn’t say exactly but I’m aiming for every other day, except for Friday which is my rest day.

I’ve been bad about following my RYBO book, so I’m 2 days behind my “first” week. If I can keep with my current plan, I’m hoping to hit Week 2 next week were I step up to Run/Walking. I’ll give you an update on how that goes as I progress.

4 thoughts on “30 minutes with a Trainer..

  1. Loved your post! Great work surviving your trainer and the workout 🙂 Good luck with the running plan. Although I started running to join (short) races for charities I cared about and to help lose some weight/push my fitness to new levels, I have found a love in heading out for a run, since it not only keeps my body healthy, it helps clear my brain.

    Happy Training!
    Elaine

  2. Pingback: Couch to 5k: Week one Complete | Cheat Days

Leave a Reply

