Feeling the Burn!

So, it’s mid week and time to write about my adventures again. I’ve kind of given up on the daily posting of my bodyfit media stuff. It’s a lot of data that isn’t really important, and even less so without a rundown. Maybe as I have more and more time I can post them and dissect them but I think I’ll stick to doing that when I have something to talk about instead of just to post and fill space. It feels kind of cheap to add to my post count that way.

Last week, I meet up with Tracey to try Belly Dancing, and I really enjoyed it. It was a great work out for my legs and core and I need that. So, she invited me to the class they do on Mondays and I agreed that it would be fun. It gets me out of the house and gets me moving, plus I’m less likely to skip a class when I have people there that I like. This week it was at Tracey’s which was awesome, I didn’t have to worry about getting lost and being on time.

Belly dancing is hard! Not that I thought it was easy or anything, but I was surprised at how much effort was needed to do things and how little my muscle wanted to obey. I was very sore after Friday and Monday’s sessions. It was a good sore though. I’m gaining strength in my legs which will help with the knee problems I’ve been having lately. I found hip drops the hardest to understand of all the moves. I can visualize what my body needs to do, but can’t seem to translate that into my hips. I’ve worked on it since class and I think I’m getting it, but I might also be twisting, which is bad. I’m rather amused at how I can see how it works and how my body is supposed to do it, but when I look at my legs they kind of look back and go “wtf are you trying to do?” So I’ve been practicing that this week and I’m starting to make my body understand what I want it to do.

Here is the Steps and Activity levels for my first Belly Dancing Lesson. I took it kind of easy on myself since I didn’t want to stress out my muscles too much.

Click for Larger Image

Click for Larger Image

Tuesday, I was super pumped about the great day I’d had on Monday. I was so pumped I was able to exercise in my office. I did a quick 9 minute thing that I found on Pinterest(photo below). I’ve been using Pinterest a lot for motivation. It’s pretty cool for that and can really get me pumped up for a work out. I didn’t do the jumping jacks or the long jumps because it’s hard to work out with my stomach bouncing around especially in a small office. I pretty much just marched in place or jogged. It got my heart rate up and that’s all that really mattered.

Click for Larger Image

Then Last night (Tuesday night) while we were raiding in SWTOR I put my arm band on my leg and just started chair/desk dancing. Basically it was me fidgeting to and extreme while sitting at my desk. I had music playing and was moving to it and flailing my legs. I didn’t break a sweat but I was moving quite a bit for like an hour. It was awesome. Below you can see the chart for my activity levels on Tuesday.  They are off the charts! I might do this every night while I raid. I wanted to do that with the little bike, but it’s really hard to bike and play the computer, so flailing around like a kind having a seizure seems to work well enough.

Click for Larger

There are 2 routines I really want to try incorporating into my daily life. One is the 4 minute work out that supposed to burn calories for 36 hours after it and the Luckly Legs of March thing that’s basically a calendar with exercises to do on it every day to help tone legs. I might be crazy wanting to do all these thing but I figured I’d try a lot of things and then settle into a routine of a few of them and rotate to keep the stuff fresh. The 4 minute one looks rough but I think it will really do a lot of work.

Click for Larger

Here is the video for the 4 minute workout:

One of the funnier things that happened this week is that I unintentionally cut out caffeine. The last few days I’ve developed a really rough headache in the mid afternoon. Not quite a migraine but not a run of the mill stress headache. I thought it was because I hadn’t been eating salads this week or that it was just an effect of the diet. This morning I came into work and looked at my coffee cup and it hit me. Every weekday morning I usually have a few cups of tea and then on the weekend a cup or two of coffee. This weekend I didn’t do that and it was warm out so I didn’t want my morning tea the last few days.

Once I figured out that it was caffeine withdraw I went down and bought a bottle of mt. dew and within 20 minutes I had bounced back and was feeling awesome. My friend Dave once cut out caffeine out completely and while my symptoms weren’t nearly as bad as his I can’t believe it took me so long to realize what I was doing to myself. So I’m thinking I might incorporate a can of soda a day so I don’t have to worry about that. I could do tea/coffee but as summer gets closer I tend to not want to drink those, and this way I won’t run the risk of withdrawal. It kind of sounds messed up but I do need caffeine, it helps balance my brain and when I’ve gone without it for long periods before I’d had issues.

That’s it for now. I plan on desk dancing again tonight while I raid and I’ll try and remember to post the activity logs again so we can see how much I burn when I haven’t worked out besides that.

Leave a Reply

