Changes

It’s always interesting at how fast life can turn on a dime. Sometimes it feels like life is taking forever to get going, constantly waiting for something to happen or the next task to accomplish. Other times you barely have a second to breathe before the world has spun you on your head and you now have a completely new view of the world. For a while I’ve been waiting on things to happen, waiting for paychecks, vacations, moments when I can finally get a grip on life. These last 2 weeks my life has had huge swing of change and, while I’m handling it better than expected, I’m also amazed.

This blog is going to become a catch all for my life. I started this for a diet and its going to become another “this is my life blog”. I don’t know if people will care, my life isn’t that interesting but it’s nice to be able to write things down. Keep a record, have past and potential friends and employers know about me as more than just an email. But I run off topic. This is the warning, this space was meant for diets and will still be about that but I’ll probably talk about other things as well.

Back on track!  So last night I gave in and bought a huge cupcake with frosting and enjoyed the heck out of it. It was well worth whatever damage it will do to my diet. I’ve had a rough weekend of big highs and bad lows and I needed that special kind of love that only a really bad for you pastry can provide. Interestingly enough I’m down to 218.4 today. While I’m sure that number might do up later I choose to feel like my body was saying “That was a deserved cupcake…”

Bouncing Cupcake Company Cakes(Not the actual cupcake, but that’s about the size)

My life outside my diet is in a very interesting place right now. We make a decision and then the world changes, we react and then the world changes again. We went from considering declaring bankruptcy (that’s right) to sending me back to school to get a degree that will better suit my field, to none of those things. This all in a span of 3 or so days, talk about rollercoaster emotions! Now that school isn’t an option until I take care of some things, life is evening out a bit more. I’m working to get a handle on my student loans and finding ways that I can improve myself and my situation while staying in my budget.

This means I’m going to try to learn to program on my own. I was going to teach myself Java, but I’m going to start out simple and stick with JavaScript and PHP. These are two skills I should have for my field and it can only help me to know them. Maybe then I will work on learning Java. It looks interesting and I understand the concepts, it’s just a matter of spending the time. I’ve said that I want to do these things before but with placed like CodeAcadamy, “for Dummies” books, and the w3c online stuff, I’d be foolish to not try.

code acadamy logo

ec3school logo

Beyond schooling there have been some other developments. Dan, my guy, will likely be hired on full time with his company very soon. This means great things for us, like health insurance, paid time off for him, vacation for him, and some more job security. This has been a big hurdle for us in terms of starting a family. I’m feeling the motherhood bug pretty strongly but it wasn’t possible for a lot of reasons. Now it’s looking like it might be coming into the picture. One of the last hurdles for me is to find a more permanent job that offers the same things but that I can feel successful and have a lot more job security.

So, life. Yeah. It’s still crazy and all of this could change in an instant.  I think the great thing is that I finally feel like I can handle this. Unexpected things happen and, while I might need a little while to process and decompress it all, I don’t feel so out of my head.

Leave a Reply

